Just another WordPress.com site

Uncategorized

Business Today: Are your photos on Facebook hindering your promotion?

Let’s face it, in the Facebook and Twitter era we live in, ‘privacy’ is becoming a bit more tricky. Sure, we might have taken the time to make sure our Facebook and Twitter profiles were professional and show ourselves in the best light possible, but we are human, and when we are out with friends, celebrating a special occasion, or having a great summer holiday or family reunion, our ‘professional image’ might have just been switched to the ‘wild party animal’ the question is, are you protected from all those pictures that were taken?

Party Overload- An Image like this one might hinder your professional reputation!

Turn Off Auto Tagging Images on Facebook

Women in Business - Turn Off Auto Tagging Pictures on Facebook

Want to have better privacy protection over your own face on Facebook?

Facebook automatically opts you in for their facial recognition widget. That means, once you have been tagged in a single image, or use a profile image of your face, Facebook will attempt to automatically tag your name on any other images uploaded to the site. Here are four easy steps to turn off, opt-out, and stop those annoying auto name tags from appearing in Facebook pictures:

Step 1. Select “Account” drop-down menu at the top right of your Facebook page and click “Privacy Settings.”

Step 2. Locate “Sharing on Facebook” and click on “Customize Settings.”

Step 3. Scroll down to “Suggest photos of me to friends” and click on “Edit Settings.”

Step 4. Now, in the drop-down menu on the right, click “Disabled.”

Changing your privacy settings will not delete tags that have already been added to existing photos, but you can delete them manually by viewing any image where you are tagged and looking under the image to find “In this photo: (names of tagged people) (photos · remove tag)” and asking for your name to be removed.

Tagged Image Privacy Tip:: You can also choose to hide who can see images you are tagged in by selecting “Photos and videos you’re tagged in” (found under Step 2, above) and clicking “Only me.”

Advertisements